Fujiwara Pantheon

About Fujiwara

The Fujiwara pantheon is deeply ingrained in the fabric of a society that values honor, integrity, and the pursuit of personal and communal ideals. The gods in this pantheon are as diverse as the elements themselves, encompassing everything from valor in battle to the cunning art of thievery. Yet, they all share a core commitment to principles that they deem inviolable. These deities are not just figures of worship but are considered the very epitome of the virtues and vices they represent, making them both guides and cautionary tales for their followers.

In ancient times, the land was wracked by chaos, a world bereft of laws and justice. It was then that the first gods of the Fujiwara pantheon emerged, bringing with them the codes of honor that would become the bedrock of civilization. These divine principles were not merely imposed but were the outcome of a great celestial debate, symbolizing the gods' collective and individual wisdom.

Temples devoted to the gods of Fujiwara are often magnificent structures that stand as much as a tribute to divine grandeur as they do to human craftsmanship. These temples serve as both places of worship and as institutions where honor is taught, debated, and put to the test. Warriors, mages, leaders, and even thieves come to these holy grounds to prove themselves and earn the gods' blessings.

The rituals and ceremonies of the Fujiwara faith are meticulously designed, often requiring intricate preparations that must be performed with the utmost precision. This attention to detail is a reflection of the pantheon’s overarching emphasis on honor; to skip or incorrectly perform a step would be to dishonor not just the gods but oneself and the community.

Yet, the Fujiwara pantheon is not without its contradictions and tensions. Gods of chaos and pain exist alongside gods of harvest and honor. While they might seem at odds with each other, these gods exemplify the myriad ways in which the concept of honor can manifest. Even a god of thievery or a former demon lord has a code, a set of principles that guide their actions and decisions.

In recent times, the pantheon has started to evolve, reflecting the changing attitudes and beliefs of its worshipers. New gods have risen, old gods have adapted, and a few have even vanished into myths and legends. However, the core principle of honor remains unwavering, a celestial constant in a changing world.

Titles: Guiding Light in the Darkness
Domains: Twilight

Titles: The Unyeilding Champion of Honor
Domains: War

Titles: The Eternal Wayferer
Domains: Guidance

Titles: The Whisperer of Hidden Truths
Domains: Secrets

Titles: The Enshrouded Mistress
Domains: Darkness

Titles: The Emberlord
Domains: Elemental (Fire)

Titles: The Seducer of Souls
Domains: Pleasure

Titles: Mistress of the Silenced Blade
Domains: Shadow

Titles: Weaver of Eternal Threads
Domains: Fate

Titles: The Arbiter of Inescapable Justice
Domains: Justice

Titles: The Loommaster of Cosmic Destinies
Domains: Fate

Titles: Sovereign of the Shrouded Realm
Domains: Death

Titles: Stormbringer of the Skies
Domains: Tempest

Titles: The Unyielding Sentinel
Domains: Strength

Titles: The Flawless Lotus
Domains: Order

Titles: The Eternal Sculptress
Domains: Nature

Titles: The Gemheart Sovereign
Domains: Elemental (Earth)

Titles: The Unyielding General
Domains: War

Titles: The Unbreakable Vowkeeper
Domains: Oaths

Titles: The Forgotten Sovereign
Domains: Abandoned

Titles: The Eternal Archivist
Domains: Knowledge

Titles: The Void Mother
Domains: Void

Titles: Sage Eternal
Domains: Knowledge

Titles: Artisan Divine
Domains: Craftsmanship

Titles: The Inflictor of Malaise
Domains: Suffering

Titles: Benevolent Sower
Domains: Bounty

Titles: Grand Mirage
Domains: Illusion

Titles: The Luminous Muse
Domains: Love

Titles: Shadow of Fortune
Domains: Trickery

Titles: Redeemer of Shadows
Domains: Redemption

Titles: The Eternal Clockmaster
Domains: Time

Titles: The Celestial Aviary
Domains: Elemental (Air)

About Diyu, the Fujiwara Afterlife

The Messengers of Diyu

When someone's life comes to an end in the mortal realm, they are greeted by two celestial messengers, Yuhui and Xunzhi. Yuhui holds a scroll that recounts all the benevolent deeds the deceased has performed, while Xunzhi holds another that records all the wrongs committed. Clad in flowing robes embroidered with ancient symbols of balance and duality, these messengers guide the departed soul to Diyu, the realm of the afterlife.

Yuhui and Xunzhi are not mere record-keepers; they are also protectors and advocates for the departed. As agents of Diyu, they strive to present each soul in the fairest light, emphasizing the contexts and reasons behind each action, be it good or bad.

The Journey Through Diyu

A soul's journey in Diyu is a long and intricate affair, comprising several layers, each presided over by a specific ruler who evaluates the soul's deeds in relation to their domain. The sequence in which a soul visits these layers depends on which they are most likely to pass to which they are least likely.

The Dance of Rebirth or Eternal Suffering

Nüwa’s chamber is both the end of one journey and the beginning of another. Her decision, informed by the judgments of the preceding rulers and the weight of the soul's deeds, dictates whether the soul will be reborn or suffer eternally in the depths of Diyu.

Yuhui and Xunzhi, ever the protectors, say their final goodbyes as the soul embarks on its new journey, either back to the mortal realm or deeper into the darkness of Diyu, sealed away forever in eternal suffering.

In the Fujiwara pantheon, death is neither the end nor the beginning, but a continuous cycle of judgment and consequence, justice and redemption, in the grand theater of cosmic equilibrium.

Brother Yutian and Sister Liqing
Layer: Familial

King Baoxue
Layer: Violence

King Zhoaming
Layer: Murder

Princess Zhishi
Layer: Lies

Queen Pianxian
Layer: Betrayals

Queen Xizuo
Layer: Laziness

Role: Wrong Doings Messenger of Diyu

Role: Righteous Acts Messenger of Diyu